Toronto Maple Leafs’ Auston Matthews, Oilers’ Leon Draisaitl highlight full NHL All-Star Weekend rosters


The NHL’s Hockey Operations Department on Monday named 37 players to four All-Star teams across the league’s divisions.

The announced players will play alongside each division’s captains, who were named in an announcement on Dec. 21. David Pastrnak (Atlantic), Nathan MacKinnon (Central) and Connor McDavid (Pacific) were selected as captains by an online fan vote and will lead their teams in the 2020 NHL All-Star skills competition on Jan. 24 and three-on-three tournament Jan. 25. Washington Capitals superstar Alex Ovechkin was originally named the Metroplolitan division team’s captain, but he announced on Dec. 27 that he will not participate in All-Star festivities in favor of resting his body and preparing for the regular season’s stretch run.

The 2010s: Crosby named NHL Athlete of the Decade | NHL All-Decade Team

12 players total — including Calgary Flames forward Matthew Tkachuk and St. Louis Blues goalie Jordan Binnington — will participate in All-Star weekend for the first time in their careers this January. Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane (ninth All-Star selection) is the most senior player currently named to one of the four teams.

In addition to these players, the NHL will conduct its All-Star Last Men In fan vote to allow fans to select the final players on each All-Star roster. The league picked one player from each team in the league and will add the highest vote-getters by division to each All-Star roster. Voting for the Last Men In starts on Jan. 1 at 12 p.m. ET and lasts until Jan. 10 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Let’s take a look at the league’s four All-Star teams for each division.

Atlantic Division

David PastrnakBoston Bruins
Tuukka RaskBoston Bruins
Jack EichelBuffalo Sabres
Tyler BertuzziDetroit Red Wings
Jonathan HuberdeauFlorida Panthers
Shea WeberMontreal Canadiens
Anthony DuclairOttawa Senators
Victor HedmanTampa Bay Lightning
Frederik AndersenToronto Maple Leafs
Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs

Metropolitan Division

Dougie HamiltonCarolina Hurricanes
Seth JonesColumbus Blue Jackets
Joonas KorpisaloColumbus Blue Jackets
Kyle PalmieriNew Jersey Devils
Mathew BarzalNew York Islanders
Artemi PanarinNew York Rangers
Travis KonecnyPhiladelphia Flyers
Jake GuentzelPittsburgh Penguins
John CarlsonWashington Capitals
Braden HoltbyWashington Capitals

Central Division

Patrick KaneChicago Blackhawks
Nathan MacKinnonColorado Avalanche
Tyler SeguinDallas Stars
Eric StaalMinnesota Wild
Roman JosiNashville Predators
Ryan O’ReillySt. Louis Blues
Jordan BinningtonSt. Louis Blues
Alex PietrangeloSt. Louis Blues
Connor HellebuyckWinnipeg Jets
Mark ScheifeleWinnipeg Jets

Pacific Division

Jakob SilfverbergAnaheim Ducks
Darcy KuemperArizona Coyotes
Matthew TkachukCalgary Flames
Mark GiordanoCalgary Flames
Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers
Leon DraisaitlEdmonton Oilers
Anze KopitarLos Angeles Kings
Logan CoutureSan Jose Sharks
Elias PetterssonVancouver Canucks
Marc-Andre FleuryVegas Golden Knights

The NHL will hold its annual All-Star weekend on Jan. 24-25 at the St. Louis Blues’ Enterprise Center in St. Louis, Mo. 

fbq(‘init’, 235247967118144);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here